The CDT's 4th Annual Conference took place on Friday 2nd November 2018 at the Edinburgh International Conference Centre in the city centre, showcasing the work of 109 PhD students from 17 universities across the UK through both oral and poster presentations.

NERC CDT Oil and Gas student Callum Fry won an Outstanding Student Paper Award in the seismology focus group at the American Geophysical Union (AGU) Fall Meeting for his presentation about his work on Polygonal Fault Systems (PFS).

Adam Cawood, a University of Aberdeen student in the 2015 CDT cohort, has won the BP Prize for best overall student contribution to the Tectonic Studies Group annual meeting 2018. Adam won the prize for eRocK, a project co-founded with his PhD supervisor, Dr Clare Bond, that provides virtual outcrops and samples in an open-source, online repository.

University of Birmingham CDT students Jonathan Hall and Jack Richardson, and geology graduate Rebecca Walley travelled to Edinburgh in mid-November (17-20th) to showcase Fossil Forensics at the NERC’s annual science public engagement event, this year titled UnEarthed.

This year’s CDT Annual Conference took place on Friday 3 November 2017 at Our Dynamic Earth in Edinburgh's city centre, our first move off-campus in order to accommodate all four annual entry student cohorts and our invited guests as the CDT reaches its full strength.

The conference was opened by Paul Wheelhouse, MSP and Minister for Business, Innovation and Industry and featured key note speeches from Chris Stark, Head of the Energy Directorate for the Scottish Government, Dr Nick Richardson, Head of Exploration and New Ventures at the Oil & Gas Authority, Dr John Clayburn, Head of Exploration and Development at Cairn Energy plc and Professor Iain Stewart from the University of Plymouth.